'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The cynosure of this statement is to restore the late-night program to its former lever so that more viewers can be attracted and loss of advertising revenues can be avoided. At first glance, the business manager's concern and memorandum inclines us to agree on the conclusion. The reasons stated such as viewers complaints and local business cancelling contracts seems appropriated but analyzing it in-depth, leads to certain questions that are vital to be known to validate the statement.

Firstly, in late night program, that covers national news and devote less time to weather and local news, the targeted audience is not known. The motive of this change could be to reach a higher numbers of audience and expand the business. On including the statistics of the increased customer base to this point, it will be help us get a clear picture of the purpose of changing the pattern of late-night program and whether the purpose( of change) was resolved or not. Also, in case the purpose was to increase viewers, this will enables us to analyze the customer base as increased or decreased from previous year.

Secondly, shifting light of the customers complaints on forecast and local news, it is important to focus on the type of complaints obtained. There is a probability that the weather forecast, even if live for certain time, is incorrect and not helping to gain correct data for the viewers. Apart from incorrect forecast, certain type of news tend to create agitation amongst citizens certain news also tend to follow the media trials( even if banned) , which could be a form of complaint reported by locals. Such reason tend to increase the complaints reported by the viewers. Thus, it is important for us to know the type of complaints associated

Moreover, a problem shared was of local businesses that used to advertise are cancelling contacts. In such matters, trivials details tend to add tremendous value thus it is important to know whether the importance during such time(for advertisement) was given to biased businesses or all equally payed advertisements. It could also be seen with a different perspective that the news channel might be fetching national level business during that time thus increasing the competition for local business thus enabling them to draw back from advertisements. Apart from just competition, the business might be shut thus not requiring the advertisement any longer. Here the analysis on status of contracts and the type of business associated comes in play so that it can be known to us the key reason to drop-out of business was less coverage in night program or not.

On extending the above point, it is important to know that the coverage of weather and local news are only at the late night program or any other time. If the coverage is on any other time than the concern of business manager that only late-night program impacts business is fallacious.

All the above stated factors like purpose of change( covering national news more), type of complaints, status of local business( who cancelled contract) and duration of news are key factors that require analysis. After gathering data on these points, the business manager will be able to take decisions.