Issue Type - College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

The statement wants us to streamline the careers of college students based on their interests rather than jobs. For students(learner) interest might range from arts to science based on their choice of hobbies.Whereas, jobs will be inclined to a subject which may or may not be fascinating for him/her. To analyze the stance of statement let us see both the perspectives.

On encouraging student to pursue subjects of their interest there inclination towards the subject and the urge to learn will be high. As we know curiosity is the primary key for innovations, this will help them to innovate things in the field of their interest. Apart from innovations their curiosity to learn will help them with better knowledge on subject thus increasing better changes of employment or career growth. But, we can not be sure that amidst the learning phase, interest might be lost and, most importantly, the learning ability of the student will be in accordance with the subject taken. For example, a student might like music but it can be limited to just listening music and not being a prodigy in creating new music.

On the other hand, if subjects taken by students are based on job, the counsellors will help them to look at the opportunities that will help them further their career. In this case the career security is ensured and the student will land up with a job and exposure in the field they studied. But, the silver lining here is the lack of interest. If a child is not inclined to quality study (and even if they get a job) the task or targets allocated to them, will be done in lackadaisical method thus reducing the quality of work. This will ultimately lead to frustration and reduction in growth opportunities that was the primary purpose to encourage college students to take subject complementary to a job.

In both the cases above, decision based solely on the interest or job opportunities, can have negative impact. The another factor that can help college students to be encouraged is there purpose. If a child have purpose then even after having multiple interest the jobs can be streamlined for them based on their interests. For example, a student might be interested in reading, playing instruments but want to be a marketing head. Here, the interest of learning marketing tactics can be encouraged for a student's career and growth opportunities. Also, people who are limpid of their career can take better decisions in such circumstance rather than being forced to take subjects that are solely inclined towards jobs.