The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement from the business manager is to restore time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. However, the manager fails to certain key metrics which indicate underlying correlation between viewership, advertisement revenue, and time allocation for weather and local news. While the manager identifies a general relationship between the various factors, he or she has no mention of the quality of the late-night news program presented to the audience. Additionally, the complaints from viewers have no mention of wanting further screen time for weather and local news. Finally, there may be other reasons to local business cancelling their advertising contracts that are not related to the television staton.

The late-night news program may be performing poorly as of late due to its quality of work, rather than the time quantity allocation of what is being presented. The program may perhaps be late in presenting stories to the public, and as such, are losing viewership because of this. Furthermore, the program may be sharing news that are less exciting or groundbreaking. Because of this, viewers are switching to other alternative news stations. If the quality of work is similar with weather and local news, the manager may not see major improvements in its viewership by restoring the time devoted to its former level.

The complaints from viewers have no mention of wanting greater screen time from weather and local news. It could be possible that the news reporter for national news is seen as less engaging as the reporter from weather or local news. As such, restoring the time devoted to weather and local news wouldn't alleviate the underlying issue of this phenomenon. The order in which the topics are presented may also be another reason as to why viewers were concerned with the station's coverage. The audience may be more interested in wanting to hear about next day's weather rather than following national news. As as result, if the weather reportings are presented later on in the show, many viewers may be unable to stay awake that late in order to hear about the weather. It can be very possible that viewers simply would like to know about the weather and local news earlier on in the evening.

Finally, local businesses may be cancelling advertising contracts for reasons that are unrelated to the performance of the television station. Given the high turnover rates of many local businesses, the decision to cancel advertisement contracts may simply be due to cut necessary expenses in order to keep their operations still running. Additionally, their return of investment may no longer be as high as it was initially when they first received exposure from the station. After a certain period of time, there is no longer a need to promote and market their business as their presence has already reached out to many of the public. For these reasons, businesses may be cutting costs regardless of if the station decides to devote more time to weather and local news.

The manager was able to highlight a key correlation between viewership, revenue and time for weather and local news. However, it is important to note that correlation does not equate to causation. The reasons behind this epidemic can very well be attributed to quality of news captured, presentation of the news delivered and local business decisions unrelated to televesion performance.