The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of the television station recommends that the station should switch back to showing more content pertaining to the weather and local happenings. He comes to this conclusion on the basis of the number and the nature of the complaint filed by the viewers and the cancellation of advertisement contracts of the regional businesses. Although it might be possible that increasing the provincial content in the station's timeshare may bring about increased viewership, the business manager must provide the following three pieces of evidence to bolster his argument.

First of all, the business manager is required to provide evidence that the complaints received from viewers regarding their disapproval of the switched content is actually representative of the viewer's opinion in general. For example, it is possible that the high number of complaints are actually being received from a small group of viewers and that the audience, in general, does not eschew from the increased coverage of national news. Also, it might be of relevance to know what is the total number of complaints received in the last year in ratio of the total number of viewers engaged in the station network for the same period. If the total viewership is 5,00,000 and the number of complaints was around 500, which is only 0.1% of total audience strength, the strength of the argument decreases considerably. Hence, if any of these two pieces of evidences reveal an unwarranted assumption, the manager's argument does not hold water.

Second of all, what is the evidence that the reason for the cancellation of contracts of advertisement by the local businesses is the station's change of roster in terms of programming? It is quite possible that the nation might be going through a general depression in the economy and the local businesses, in their attempts to thrive, are looking for options for cost-cutting to reduce their extraneous expenditures. If this indeed proved to be the case, then this phenomenon would not be specific to one television station let alone because of a change in that station's time slots. Further to this, it might also be the case that the local businesses changed their medium of advertisement to a medium other than television e.g. the businesses found that their targeted audience is more engaged in newspaper reading. If any of these two pieces of evidences show that the assumptions taken by the business manager are without basis, the manager's argument completely falls apart.

Lastly, the manager of the station should provide evidence that switching back to devoting more time to the provincial matters and weather report would indeed boost the viewership of the channel. Quite possibly, it may be the case that some other local competitor television station is already engaged in providing content of the local matters and the audience might be tuned in to the same and to get the audience to switch back to their station might prove to be a herculean task. Similarly, it is also possible that regional businesses have already found alternative media, whether through television or posters to showcase their products and thus, might not jump back to the previous station just because of the revival of increased coverage of local news. Hence, if any of these two pieces of evidence result in proving the assumption of the business manager to be lacking support, the strength of the argument presented by the business manager is considerably reduced.

Thus, to conclude, while it might be possible for the television station that increasing the ambit of local news and weather reports in their timeshare might increase the station's viewership and/or help them in sustaining long term contracts with their advertising business associates, the business manager of the station must provide three shreds of evidence as mentioned above to bolster the persuasiveness of his argument. However, the recommendation, as it stands now, is rife with unwarranted assumptions and logical holes.