The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the given argument prompt, the personal director of Acme Publishing Company recommends that all employees of Acme Publishing Company should enrol in Easy Read course to improve their overall productivity. The director arrives at this conclusion based on the improved productivity observed in case of competitor companies and the relatively low cost associated with the enrolment of the course. While the recommendation given might be true, the personnel director of Acme Publishing Company is required to answer the following three questions pertinent to the three assumptions (backed by superfluous statistics and conjectures) implicit in supporting his argument.

Firstly, how valid is the claim that the increase in efficiency observed in the employees works is indeed fuelled by their enrolment to the Easy Read Speed-Reading course? It might just be the case that this was due to some other major policy changes recently done in the company. For instance, the Company may have introduced some kind of incentives/perks directly linked with the productivity of the Employee which in effect propelled them to increase their productiveness. In addition to this, it is also possible that Company has induced some kind of negative reinforcement strategy such as laying off the less productive employees who perform below a certain expected level of productivity for consecutively 2-3 months. The answer to this question, If any of these two cases prove to be true, would severely weaken the author’s recommendation.

Secondly, how true is the claim that the performance of one graduate to read a given no of pages in a defined time and another graduate’s speedy promotion is actually representative of the employees of the company in general? Perhaps the two employees, whose example the president provides in support to his argument that Easy Read courses do increase the productivity, were already astute learners and had brilliant performance history even before they took the said courses. Also, it might be true that the employee who was able to read the 500 pages in two hours had already gone through the report beforehand and thus was able to quickly sift through the pages and may be the employee who got promoted from assistant manager to vice president did so due to his obsequious nature and not due to his performance efficiency. If any of these stated cases are proved genuine, the persuasiveness of the president’s argument will be considerably undermined.

Finally, what if the cost associated with these courses actually form a significant part of the employee’s renumeration and far offsets the benefits borne out of them in terms of value for money? The president assumes that the cost of 500 USD is a significantly trivial amount to be paid by the employees in comparison to the benefits that the Easy Read Courses provide. It may just be the case that a considerable no. of employees of the company live hand to mouth and depend on their salaries to get by. And if these employees are forced to enrol in a course that will snatch them out of 500 USD, it might just make these employees demoralised and in effect, their productivity may actually decrease instead of improving. Also, in addition to this, what if these courses cater only to a certain specific department of the company and would not really relate much to the other sections of the companies such as the administration & welfare, the human resources department etc. in which case paying for these courses will only add to their financial burdens. If any of the these two cases prove to be correct, the author’s contention that the course does not exert considerable financial stress on the employees falls apart.

To conclude, while the personnel director’s recommendation that all the employees to subscribe to the Easy read course to increase their overall productivity might be correct, he should first address the aforementioned three questions in a comprehensive manner to enhance the persuasiveness of his argument.