As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of
humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.
Surely many of us have expressed the following sentiment, or some variation on
it, during our daily commutes to work: “People are getting so stupid these
days!” Surrounded as we are by striding and strident automatons with cell
phones glued to their ears, PDA’s gripped in their palms, and omniscient,
omnipresent CNN gleaming in their eyeballs, it’s tempting to believe that
technology has isolated and infantilized us, essentally transforming us into
dependent, conformist morons best equipped to sideswip one another in our
SUV’s.
Furthermore, hanging around with the younger, pre-commute generation,
whom tech-savviness seems to have rendered lethal, is even less reassuring.
With “Teen People” style trends shooting through the air from tiger-striped
PDA to zebra-striped PDA, and with the latest starlet gossip zipping from juicy
Blackberry to teeny, turbo-charged cell phone, technology seems to support
young people’s worst tendencies to follow the crowd. Indeed, they have
seemingly evolved into intergalactic conformity police. After all, today’s techaided
teens are, courtesy of authentic, hands-on video games, literally trained
to kill; courtesy of chat and instant text messaging, they have their own
language; they even have tiny cameras to efficiently photodocument your
fashion blunders! Is this adolescence, or paparazzi terrorist training camp?
With all this evidence, it’s easy to believe that tech trends and the
incorporation of technological wizardry into our everyday lives have served
mostly to enforce conformity, promote dependence, heighten comsumerism and
materialism, and generally create a culture that values self-absorption and
personal entitlement over cooperation and collaboration. However, I argue that
we are merely in the inchoate stages of learning to live with technology while
still loving one another. After all, even given the examples provided earlier in
this essay, it seems clear that technology hasn’t impaired our thinking and
problem-solving capacities. Certainly it has incapacitated our behavior and
manners; certainly our values have taken a severe blow. However, we are
inarguably more efficient in our badness these days. We’re effective worker
bees of ineffectiveness!
If technology has so increased our senses of self-efficacy that we can
become veritable agents of the awful, virtual CEO’s of selfishness, certainly it
can be beneficial. Harnessed correctly, technology can improve our ability to
think and act for ourselves. The first challenge is to figure out how to provide
technology users with some direly-needed direction.