The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company recommends allocating a higher share of its budget for the succeeding year to advertising which, in the director's opinion, will increase the footfall of audience. Although increasing the advertising budget may increase the viewership of the Super Screen Production company, the director of the company must answer the following three questions which are based on the three unwarranted assumptions before this recommendation can be accepted.

First of all, what if the lack of attendance of audience last year that the director provides as an evidence for the company's low reachability was an anomaly or an aberration? What if the number of people visiting the Super Screen Movie theatre were quite high in the last five years preceding the last year in which case the last year can be ignored as being an outlier data point. In addition, what if there were other external factors in play which resulted in this low outcome? It is possible that some other competitor offered high incentives to the people for watching movies in their theatres even though the quality of their movies was substandard as compared to the Super Screen movies. Also , what if the climate of the last year was particularly bad which resulted in a very lean period for the whole movie production industry and this reduction in audience is not specific to Super Screen Movie only. If answer to any of these two questions is assertive, then the director's whole argument falls apart.

Second of all, what if the percentage increase of positive reveiws given by movie reviewers was immaterial? It might be the case that the number of positive review in the preceding year to the last year were 2% in a sample of 1000 movie reviewers and in the last year the the percentage share increased to 3% which basically means only 20 additional positive reviews which does not bolster the argument that the quality of movies produced actually increased. Also what if the movie reviewers were biased in there opinions and were infact lying about the quality of the movies? It is possible that the production Company actually provided perks to the reviewers to give the company better reviews but the public in general did not accept this considering no actual jump in the quality of the movies this production company churned out. If any of these two questions are answered in positive, the author's argument that increased percentage of positive reviews reflects jump in the quality of the content does not hold water.

Last of all, what is the guarantee that increasing the budget of advertisement will actually result in greater influx of audiences to the company's theatre? It might be possible that the type of movies that the production house makes only attract a niche segment of the society and thus, even if large banners and more television advertisements were made, it may fail to catch the interest of a wider audience. In addition, it is also possible that the audience may consider the increased advertisement content of the Production company in a negative context i.e. the increased desperation of the Super Screen Movie Production house for attention might eschew away the ardent followers of the company which in effect may affect the viewership negatively. If either of these two assumptions are proven to be without basis, the pursuasiveness of the director's argument shall be highly diminished.

Thus, to conclude, although the director's recommendation that increasing the reachability of the company to a larger demographics by allocating higher budget to the advertisement next year might be of some validity, the director must answer the above stated three questions in order to make a his argument more compelling. The recommendation, as it stands now, is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions and hence, cannot be taken at face value.