The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum states to expand coverage of weather and local news all over news program to attract more number of people. Additionally, he supports the argument by stating that most of the complain were received from viewers were concerned with weather and local news. In addition, local business that uses to advertise during late-night news program has cancelled their advertising contract.

To begin with, how efficient is the staffs which are appointed for local and weather news? How interested people are in local news and weather? Maybe staff appointed to local and weather news is not experienced. Maybe they are not able to cover news or there are even possibility that people in that area are not concerned about the local news and weather forecast. They are more interested in national news. If this turns out to be true than TRP towards the local and weather news will reduce which will be bad for television station and it may also result into reduce in number of viewer day by day and advertising contract will also get reduce.

Secondly, what if people are not comfortable with the timing of local and weather news? Or what if local business in that area is not flourishing? Maybe at late night people don’t want to see local and weather forecast. Maybe local business in that area is not flourishing and several business are running in the depth, this could be the reason of cancelling advertising contract with late night program and mostly people in this area don’t like to watch local news and weather forecast, maybe they want more entertainment. If it is true then cancelling the contract has nothing to do with popularity of late night show.

Finally, what if viewers don’t like idea of expanding coverage of local and weather news? As everyone is complaining about local news and weather news, maybe people do not like this news and they want to stop seeing such news and they want something else in place of that. If this happens to be true than increasing coverage of local news and climate news is not a good idea and it may take television station into more loss and even complain may also increased.

In conclusion, if all above questions are answered with provided evidences than it may strengthen the argument and suggestion made in this memorandum can be overlooked.