Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claims is based.

It is said that birds of same feather flocks together, that means same kind of people of people who share common views with one another stays together. In my not so humble opinion, I agree with the claim that we can learn much more from people whose views we share from those whose view contradicts our own.

To begin with, people mostly feel comfortable with people of their own thinking, so it is blatant that they will have good tuning among themselves which will lead to good understanding. But, on the other hand if two individual don’t share same thinking then they will not feel comfortable with each other and it is plausible that their views will not match and they won’t anything from each other. For instance, one can exemplify in politics if two ministers thinking is not matching then one of those form opposition party and start opposing other person. From this we can say that if two people thinking are not matching they will always end up in disagreement.

However, sometime sharing common views also depends on the background or past. If two individual has share common experience in the past than it is blatant that they will bolster each other’s argument and they will learn from that. For instance, if we consider two teachers from two different collages they will share their experience of teaching with each other more comfortably than to some other person who doesn’t come from same profession. This happens because both individual have some common experience of teaching and they will even learn from each other experience.

Furthermore, in the field of education it is seen that some students don’t like some of their professor or teachers views that effect on teaching also. No matter how good teacher is if students point of view is contradicting the teachers view than it is possible that student will not get entice with that teacher teaching. For instance, if a teacher is having one point of view on concept which she/he is teaching and student is having other than it is blatant that they might end up arguing with one another which will effect on learning. In this case it is plausible that student will not learn anything from that professor.

To sum up, we can learn much better from those whose view we share then from those whose view contradict our own. If we try to learn from those whose view contradicts it may happen that his/her view attenuates our views or vice versa.