The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Board of director of Monarch Books recommend opening a café in its store to ameliorate sales. They support this recommendation by stating that opening the café will attract more customers. They also state that children’s book section should be abandon and instead of that café should be open. By doing so Monarch Books will attract more customer and it will compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café. However, before this recommendation can properly evaluate, some question must be answer.

Firstly, what if, opening the café attracts more noise and which may create unhealthy environment for reader? What if people don’t like this new setup? For example, people will start talking in café and even they may start meeting in café which will create noise. Which may disturb readers? Main motive is to sale books and that’s the main reason Monarch Books have large customer base, If people don’t like the idea than they will stop coming to this book shop. If this happens to be true that, this may result into less customer and sales of Monarch Books may go down drastically.

Secondly, what if, sales go down if we abandon children book section? Tough children book section sales is low compare to other all sections still abandoning it and opening a new café on that place may not be good idea because sales of café is capricious. If we do so customer may not like it as this place is from past twenty years and still many of Monarch Books regular customer buy books for their children from children section. If this happens to be true, people will go to another book shop to buy the books which may result huge loss for Monarch Books.

Finally, don’t you think survey should be carried out between our regular customers before taking such a big step? What may be the consequences if customers don’t like to read the book when café is around? What if the Monarch Books goes in depth due to this idea? What type of customer is visiting frequently to Monarch Books? Monarch Books is here from last twenty years serving all type of customer so it should be obvious to ask customer what they want? If we open a café and customers don’t like the idea of café they will get disappointed and it may hamper our sales.

In conclusion, this idea is not seems to be feasible still if all above question is answered and survey is carried out, if it gets positive response from the customer than recommendation made by board of directors of Monarch Books shall be espouse.