The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that the new channel in its late- night news must increase the time of weather and local news to its former level. He expect a increase in viewership and revenue as a result of it. The claim is based on the fact that there is increase in cutomer complaints and decline in advertising revenue due to canellation of contacts. This argument is based of mainly three assumptions, which if left unsubstatiated, dramatically decreases the persuasiveness the argument.

To begin, the author assumes that if they restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, they will get back the viewership and advertising contracts.

It is possible that this may not happen. Maybe the economy of the country is in a decline, and therefore the companies are cutting back on marketing cost, in such a case channel may never get back it's lost revenue. It's is also possible, that audience might have shifted to some alternative sources like internet or newspaper, some may like it better than televison and may never decide to switch back.

Another assumption is that the decline in viewership and revenue is solely dependent on the less coverage of local news and weather, some other factor can also result in such decline. For example, maybe a new channel has come in the market and competing with them for viewership. It's possible that the existing channel may have improved the content of their channel, and therefore might have become more palatable to the audience. In both the cases, the reason for the decline is increase in competition. In such a scenario, even with a incease in timing of the coverage, it may not provide the expected result.

The third assumption of the author is regarding the complaints received and the coverage of local news in shows other than the late night news. The author assume that, the complaint is regarding the less coverage during the late night show, but it is possible that the complaints are not agianst the less coverage but maybe against some other issue. Maybe the consumers are not satisfied with the graphics or the accuracy of the predictions or maybe they are not satisfied with the presenters. It's is also possible that the local news are highly baised in nautre, and people are complaining agaisnt it.

From the above discussion it is clear, that the argument in it'scurrent state is highly flawed and required further evidences and clarification from the author to strengthen it. The author must provide a comprehensive detail about the specifc complaints recevied from the consumers regarding coverage. Also, the author must give data regarding the economy, advertiser demand and market demand to bolster his claim that the revenue wil come back once they increase the time devoted to weather and local news. A competiot