Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Can you imagine the former president of USA Obama as a professional football player or Brad pitt as a politician ? I guess that will be really absurd even to imagine ! For most of the successful people, they did just one think i.e. Following there passion diligently. They all have the common ambition to think big and then achieving it through incessant hard work. That's the reason, we as a kid always get the advice:"FOLLOW YOUR DREAMS". The author claim here that although that's a correct advice, more importance should be given to selecting worthy goal, as often people select very self-centric goal which may not be beneficial to the society. I do not formly agree with this claim of the author believe, however he was raised a valid reason that can be true in some cases.

To begin with, the very idea of picking a worthy goal is little dubious. The definition of a worthy goal is highly subjective, it can vary from place to place, can be different for different community or else can be different for person to person. Their is no "Fits everyone" definition of worth goal. For example, a goal of becoming a engineer can be a very big thing for a boy in a small African city, but the same thing may not be considered very big in urbane society of New York city. In the same way, the goal which is very worth at a given time period, may not be worthy at some other time period. For example the goal of reaching mars, must have seemed absurd to a person from 16th century, but this goal has now become very much possible. This is the reason, I believe that, instead of succumbing to the pressure of society, peer or parents by selecting a "Worthy Goal", it's is better to follow your dream. It is okay, to be little selfish, even Steve Job once said, "Be selfish, Be successful".

Also, choosing a goal is a big thing, as a person chasing that dream, we will be investing a not of time, energy and resources. It's better to choose something which we enjoy. For example, will a math prodigy enjoy we force him to sports or cultural activities ? Even he is get success eventually, he will be not happy. Happiness in that we do plays a major role in deciding the probability of success. It's is better to choose a dream, which we truly enjoy as we will be spending a large proportion of our time chasing it.

However, The author is right in saying that, the goal can be very selfish sometime which is wrong. We should always keep in mind that our goal should not effect the human kind in wrong away. I believe, if you are unable to make a good impact on the society, atleast do not make a wrong or hazardous impact.