The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that the Seatown university should offer free tuition for the children of college's professor. This claim is based on the the research done by Oceania University. The Oceania university showed some promising result in terms on professor retention and moral. However, this claim is based on 3 assumptions, which if not substantiated, dramatically decreases the persuasiveness of the argument.

To begin, the author must provide evidence about the similarities between Oceania University and Seatown University. It is highly probable that, the policy which proved highly successful in Oceania may not be that successful in Seatown University. For example, It is possible that Oceania is ranked much better in terms of education quality, academics, sports and infrastructure than Seatown university, therefor a first choice for every aspiring student. Maybe its a "Dream college" for many student. But in case of seatown, maybe it is not comparable with Oceania, thus even with a free tuition, children for college's professor may not prefer Seatown University for admission. In this case, the scheme of free tuition will not be able to increase moral of faculty and lure new professor. Also these factor, play a indirectly role in moral of the employee, a better infrastructure is directly related to higher job satisfaction. So, more evidence on these factors are highly necessary to strengthen the claim.

Also, no evidence about the fee disparity between two college is mentioned. Maybe, the Oceania university tuition fee is too high and thus a fee waiver is a very attractive deal, but if the Seatown already has a low tuition fee, than it will not be a very tempting deal and the scheme will fail to achieve its purpose. Another scenario is also possible, maybe in Seatown university, the tuition fee is a very small part of the overall fee structure. Maybe other fee such as admission fee, caution deposit is very high and unaffordable for most of the people. In that case also, a small tuition fee waiver will not a able to fulfill the promise of increasing morale.

Lastly, it is possible that Oceania university has a lot of professor with college aged student, but the seatown university have a very few of them. If this is assumed true then the scheme of fee waiver will effect a small population of professor, and will not be able to have a big overall impact. Evidence regarding the percentage of professor that will be getting benefited if this scheme is implemented will highly increase the impact of the arguemnt.

As of now, the argument is clearly flawed, and required substantial data to strengthen it. The author must provide the evidences to proof that both the colleges are similar in terms of all the related factors and the proportion of student getting benefited must be simillar.