Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

According to the recent study of Forbes:"Atheles and Hollywood stars are among the richest people on Earth, Superstars like Leo Messi can earn upto 100 Million USD a year", the reason behind this massive fan following and huge commercialisation of the industry. People almost religiously follow whatever these stars do. Therefore, I somewhat belive that when a get so much from the society and people. in return it is his moral responsibilty to give something back for the betterment of it. This can be easily understood using few example and cases.

To begin, If you ask a child in primary school:"what you wnat to do when you grow older ?", most of them will either name a famous celebrity or a champion athele. This show the level of influence these people have on our young mind. This influnce has grown stonger and wider with widespread introduction of Internet, mobile phone and Televison in 21st century. Everything from a college's sport event to a movie premier from everywhere in the world is now telecasted live. When people get such an easy access to stars, people start following them diligently. What happens next is natural, with such fan base, company like Nike, Cocacola see an opportunity to capitalize this phenomenon. Starts are paid huge sum of money to endorse product and appear in a public event. Sometime, these product can be damamging for certain section of the society. For example, Coca cola became the main sponser of London olympics, many athele did paid advertisment for it, kids who follow these starts, unknowkingly though that is it good for health, and in return coca cola sales sky rocketed in 2012. So this is wrong, the advertisment set a wrong example for kids.

Also, With to so called paparazi culture, what has become common now is the level of attention the personal life of celbrities get in mainstream media. SO if a star do something bad for example consuming drugs or doing a small crime, his fan think this is okay. People and media inherently glorify this act. The distinction between private and public life has become blurr now. so, before doing anything, the star must consider the consequeces of his action and its impact.