Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author claims that its the right time to invest in Technocorporation for a profitable return in future. The dissatisfaction of people with the current satelite television provider and approval granted to Technocorporation by FTA are the baiis of the argument.However, this argument is based on mainly 3 assumptions and few question must be answered, to increase the persuasiveness of the claim.

To begin, Is Technocorporation looking to enter the Televsion market? Even if its true, Is the quality of service provide by Techcorporation on par with the current service providers?

It is possible that, even after devloping a satelite, the company might now use it for televison market, maybe they will use it for communication, and in that case there is a possiblity that company might not make a profit due to high competitve in communication market.In that case the argument is clearly flawed and the investemnt right now will be a bad choice. Even if they launch in televison market, there is no guarantee that the qualtity of service will be better than the current player in the market. If they do not provide a good enough service, then the consumer may never switch, and the company will not be profitable in that case.

Also the question, "When is Techcorporation going to lauch is service, what is the company timline and business plan for the future" ?, must be answered before making a investment decison. Maybe, even after the approval from the FTA, the company decide the launch it 2 years later due to some other technical issue that must be resolved before the lauch.In that case the company not only looses on opprotunity cost and market share but also there is a possiblity that the new technology will emerge in the mean time, which will make Techcorporation technology obsolete or a new and bigger market player make decide to lauch its own televison service, which can be a company too big, rich or influential to compete against. In both the scenario, Techcorporation will suffer and may not be able to capatilize on the advantage it has right now according to the argument right now.

Also bussiness plan for the company is another important factor before deciding wether it a good investment option. Maybe, the company plan is to expand to rapidly which may not be a vaible option for some markets, or maybe the comapny want to invest a substanitial some of money in marketing,which again can be a bad idea for a market which is not influenced much by advertisment, in both the cases, the company is bound to make a loss in future and therefore not a good investment option right now.

Lastly, the question that should be asked is:"How was the survey done, what was the survey size and assumptions taken" ? Maybe the survey is too small to be applied for a wide market, they might have performed the survey for a single state, and based on the results they have a extrapolated the results for other states, which can give bad result, for say a country like India, which has a higly diverse culture in different state. There is a possibility that people are happy with the service provider in some area of the country and may never change.

Therefore, before deciding if its is good investment option, the author must provide more data about the business plan, assumption and methology followed during the s