Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

No one can understate the fact that;Humans love scandals.This is the reason we love hollywood and reality tv shows. And scandals generally are a perfect blend of sensationalism and an a everyday issue. In the past, Scandals have uncovered major issues and scams like 2G spectrum scan of India to loopholes in our bureaucracy through snowden's Wikileaks. However, I believe that although these are some of the most pertinent issues of there time, reformers and activists have also played a major role in solving or highlighting some of the most essential problem in the society.

To begin, corruption was one of the most biggest problem of the Indian society in early 2000s, it's was everywhere from politics to bureaucracy, from court to private sectors. This is one of the reason Indian economy never never grew with it's full potential, the FDI was low and inflation was high. But after a series of scandals, whistle blowers and sting operations, a number of scams such as coal auction scam, commonwealth game scam, fodder scam etc. was discovered, this lead to widespread anger, protest and eventually a loss for the incumbent party. The new government did many radical reform and as a result FDI increased, corruption became almost not existent in higher levels of bureaucracy and politics and India became the third largest economy of the world. This is perfect example of a success story that started from a scandal. Without this, it's highly likely that the story would be completely different.

However, similar success are achieved even without a scandal, reformers and speakers have brought major changes in the society through completely disparate methods. For example, Nelson Mandela spoke against the atrocities of the British government, he highlighted the issue in world form through his charismatic speeches and inspired millions of South Africans to stands up against the social injustice of racial discrimination. Similarly, Mahatma Gandhi through his idea of non violence lead India to stand up against the British Empire and demand freedom. Both are great leader and still a inspirations of people around the world. This shows that speakers and activist have achieved equally success in the past to garner public attention.

It's is a complex issue. There are numerous examples in which either a scandal or a activist has started a great movement or a reform. It can not be said that, one is better than the other or more effective.