Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The quality which separates great personalities and philanthropist from ordinary people is "Selflessness" ! The cynical claim that "No act is done purely for the benefit of others", is false in very one sided in nature, as there are multiple instances that has happened in the past to contradict it However, there are some instances, in which a seemingly act of selflessness is not so disingenuous indeed.But even those act should not be criticized.

To begin with, The history is filled with example of people, who dedicated their whole life for the betterment of the society. The gave up all the materialistic things and social activities, things such as car, family, home, things that majority of people use to judge the so called "success" of a man's life, and relentlessly worked for the social causes. From Martin Luther king Jr. fighting against racial discrimination to Mahatma Gandhi fighting for the Indian independence to mother Teresa working for poor people of West Bengal, India., all are the epitome of selflessness.

Some people can claim that, even if these people gave for all the monetary benefit, they still worked because of there self interest to achieve something else such as political power or leadership role. Although, this may be a valid point if we see the example of people like Pandit Jawahar lal Nehru, a leading freedom fighter in India independence struggle, who later became the first prime minister of the country, still this is still a dubious claim. The fact that, he became a PM, does not prove that he did all the struggle, just to get political power, in-fact he never vouched for it, it was decided by the other leader that he should lead the country. Thus, it was the determination and his vision which led him to fight for his country. and not a selfish act of getting power.

Albeit, it is very much possible that, exception may exist. Many businessman like Mukesh Amabani or celebrities due philanthropic work just to build public image and get publicity. This positive image can help their business or movies through "positive branding" and increasing their acceptance among the people. But even if this is true, it does not matter much as long as they are doing something good for the society.For example even if a celebrity is building a school in order to just get some media attention, it is a good act and should be encouraged.

In conclusion, most of the people do philanthropy because they want to and because they believe in giving back to the society. There are countless people who have dedicated their life for the country and society. Although, exception may exist, still the act should be encouraged.