The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received

The business manager suggest that the late-night news time has increased at the detriment of weather news and suggests that the resultant effect is the advertisers not renewing their contract and complaints received from viewers were weather related cases. More so, he suggested that the time for weather should be restored.

I find this argument unpersuasive on various grounds.

Firstly, the manager suddenly came into conclusion that the shift in time-table led to viewers complaining. this point is not solid/robust enough because the content of the complaint might not be regarded to the time shift or constraints. The speaker did not explicitly state the main purpose for complaints. Who knows maybe the quality of delivery had reduced which happens to be a technical issue which doesn't have anything to do with the time. It might be that the weather report is becoming inaccurate and viewers felt like complaining. It is also possible that the set of people complaining are those that the station refused to report there location's weather condition or some set of people that just started viewing the station.

More so, the speaker linked advertisement contract expiration which in the long run had effect on revenue. this is not clear as well because there might be various reasons for advertising companies not to advertise again. For instance, a company might be complacent after a target had been met. Another instance is if there is another television station offering a wider range of coverage, more viewer base and low price. The manager needs to research on this to know why these companies are not renewing the contracts.

Another point is the complaints as regards local news coverage is not clear as well. the manager need to research on type of complaints as regards local news. It might be the station's journalists are not efficient enough in gathering local news and this does not have anything to do with the time in which the news is reported. Secondly, may be the station reports stale news and as it is expected, television stations should be news breaker.

Finally, the manager assumes returning to previous time-table would bring more viewers. It is noteworthy, that it was not stated that there was decrease in the number of viewers initially. This indicates that shifting the time-table might not necessarily increase or reduce the viewers of the television station.

In summary, the manager need to provide information on type of complaints by the viewers, further research on reasons advertisers are not renewing their contract. Maybe there is a new television station. The manager needs to produce information on the database of viewers to know if there is increase or decrease and maybe the change is in correlation with shift in time-table.