A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The speaker suggests a nation should require its students to study a national curriculum until they enter college.

I agree with the speaker in as much there are no hidden opinion from the government for implementing this policy. It is noteworthy that studying a uniform curriculum in elementary school gives the colleges a foundational confidence about the performance of the students result from elementary school. Take for instance, if the cut off for a particular course in a college is set to be 80%, any student that doesn't perform to that extent will be regarded not fit to study the course.

More so, the government can use this policy to groom her students in the way they want the economy to grow. Take for instance, a nation short of business oriented students in a particular country, government could easily implement this policy and make it compulsory for students to engage in such curriculum. E.g adding business administration, economics, finance, marketing to the curriculum at early stage to sharpen the orientation of the students at earlier stage.

However, the purpose of implementing a national curriculum could be defeated by the aim itself. when there is a national curriculum, the purpose of learning some certain things about culture might be impeded. take for instance, if a national curriculum is implemented in Nigeria, it will be costly for individual states as the history and heritage of such state will be diminishing because there will not be room for students to be involved in indigenous learning about culture, history and heritage of such state.

On the other hand, I can find the policy specious because a trait of nepotism might set in. there is a possibility that the government is advocating for such policy based a link the government have with one sector or the other. an example that comes to mind is Osun state, Nigeria. In 2011 after the election, the state government made it compulsory for all students across the state to be putting on same uniform. More so, these uniforms were produced by someone related to the people in power even at higher price. this is a means of extortion.

I also find this detrimental in the sense that, there might be some elementary schools that have super capability to make their curriculum robust. However, government policy might impede their capability. Take for instance, a school like Olashore college, Osun state, Nigeria that is making sports activities one of the very important part of the curriculum and this school also have the facilities. Compared to St.John grammar school that is running 8a.m-2P.m curriculum without any extra curriculum activities. Considering a uniform curriculum will thwart Olashore's vision and mission.

In summary, a uniform curriculum will be fine if there is no specious and nepotism act as the baseline of it. However, I believe in flexibility of curriculum so as to promote freedom even among students. who knows, a student might fall in love with one part of the curriculum at tender age but if the curriculum is rigid, it might cause a great impediment for creativity.