The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager based on the prompt avers that for a proclivity by local businesses in advertising with the television station, it is expedient that they ascribe more time to weather and local news or be faced with dwindling advertising revenues. However, this conclusion is tenuous and is based on three unfounded assumptions that if not substantiated renders the argument unpersuasive.

Firstly, the manager presumes without evidence that they were no other factors that affected the reduction of advertising contracts and this was solely based on the decrease in the level of weather and local news report. It is possible that local businesses made a sole decision to cut costs from advertisements and not due to the the present status of the television station. Perhaps, there was national depreciation or recession and the local companies deemed it fit to reduce the investment on advertising to substantiate for any losses and prevent running at a loss. If either case were true, then the Author's conclusion on increasing the frequency of local news and weather report is not overly persuasive

Secondly, The manger assumes that they were no other shows that were cut off which initially attracted audience views. It is possible that there could be a daily documentary that could be national acclaim and had not be properly represented in the complaints recieved due to negligence, as the audiences might feel the station wont take it seriously as compared to weather reports which typically affect daily movements of the people and guide their decision on whether to leave their residence or not. For example, the audiences might have been interested in a documentary such as 'Quest Means Business' as apart from being educative they find it appealing to watch, and the show being cancelled would casued the reduction of viewers, not salient enough for the Manager to suspect as there were peradventure little complaints from the viewers. If either of the aforementioned are true, then the manager's conclusion is spurious and not grounded.

Thirdly. the manager bases his conclusion on the assumption that there is a direct relationship with the number of viewers and advertisement contracts. Although this could be true, hwever there is no proper evidence that there is a substantial reduction in viewers based on the complaints recieved. Perhaps, there was no or a meager reduction in the viewers of the televison station and the complaints recieved had no correlation to the viewers perception of watching the station.

In conclusion, the manager needs to provide evidence on three fronts; the local business reason for cancellation of advertisement contract, other possible shows that may have been cancelled on the station and study on the actual viewers ratio over the year. Otherwise, the