"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the prompt given, the opponents aver that adding a bicycle lane will lead to dwindling of rush-hour traffic. However, this conclusion is based on unfounded assumptions that if not substantiated will render the argument unpersuasive. For the argument to not remain tenuous, the author needs to provide evidence for three assumptions.

To begin, opponents assumes that the same conditions present in Blue Highway were also present in Green Highway. However, this might not be the case, perhaps the Green highway is located in a metropolis as compared to the Blue highway which might be located in the suburbs. If that were the case, then it is possible that people migrated to town and more commuters engaged the road despite the widening of Green highway, thereby leading to worsening of traffic jams at rush-hours. If that were the case, then the opponents conclusion that the widening of the lane would lead to the same scenario of Green highway in Blue highway does not hold water.

Further, opponents presume that due to area resident’s fervid interests in cycling, the addition of a bicycle lane will less usage of vehicles on the highway and more usage of bicycles. However, that might not be the case, perhaps, the average distance of their workplace to their place of residence is not at a bikeable distance. Also, it is possible that residents take riding bicycles as a hobby and wouldn’t want to use it as commute for their professional work. If any of these scenarios were true, then the opponents conclusion that an additional lane will reduce rush-hour traffic is not overly persuasive.

Finally, opponents did not take it account that there is a potential high risk of fatal accidents if a bicycle lane is built, it is assumed that such action will be safe. However, this might not be the case. It is possible, due to rush-hour, vehicles can move at unsafe speeds which inevitably can lead to fatal accidents with a consequence of even worse traffic-jam. A resident, late for work can hurriedly board a vehicle and to meet up to time, drives recklessly and possibly hits a cyclist at a point of an overtake. If that were true, then the opponents conclusion is invalid at worst and specious at best.

In conclusion, for the opponents conclusion to be persuasive, more evidence is needed at three fronts; the conditions of green highway, the average distance of residence to workplace and the possible potential of accidents occurring.