Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A true leader is like being yourself and a doppelganger, a leader should have his moral principles and ideals that set him apart while also be considerate to hear and adjust to his follower’s voices. An amalgamation of the two is what makes a great leader. The prompt suggests that Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals, I strongly agree with this for two reasons.

Firstly, Politicians are appointed to office regardless of the type of government present in a country or state and are expected to serve the people as after being sworn to office. This responsibility comes with so much anticipation from the masses than fellow comrades or the government itself. Why so? As a politician, it is expedient that policies that govern successfully the country are made or readjusted to suite the ever-changing economy and status quo. This process can make or mar the strength of country vis a vis other country. Take for example, Abraham Lincoln, who is appointed the President of the United States in the 1800s. At the time, a cry for the ruling out of slavery was enormous, including the Civil war that occurred. White supremacy was still imperative and at that time, many also didn’t want that paradigm shift. As the President, not only did he have to be judicious with his decision, but he is also took the populace at heart, he crafted what one might say the greatest movement of all which eventually led to the abolishment of slave trade. This movement, till date, has shaped the US to what it is today, and the impact still being felt today with movements such as the ‘Black lives matter’ and so forth.

Further, the parliament which all the time comprises of politicians assembled to enact policies that favour the citizens and country at large is a vital aspect. Here, it is desired that a common ground should be reached for a sort after objective to be reached. For instance, in a democratic government, in the state house of assembly, it is important that a reasonable consensus be reached in passing out bills that will reach the senate house before enacted by the President. It is possible that speaker of house assembly might have his ideal goals of increasing the road networks in the state or country, others might not agree as the present roads are damaged with port holes and a repair is needed. For things to go forward, an exemplary leader will allow for the repair of roads and thereafter focus on new roads which all parties will agree too.

Finally, one can argue, that a great leader needs to be elusively idealistic with his approach, as with that the community will be driven towards that goal without considerations to naysayers. While this has worked with the case of Adolf Hitler, who arguably had the best regime due to his idealistic nature, this will come inevitably come short as seen. Thus a leader should pursue common ground while also retaining some sort of ideals.