The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author avers that with the recent developments such as an increased investment from contributors, more patronage from audiences, and rising ticket prices, the symphony can be described as completely self-supporting and will not require funding to be channeled to the symphony in next year's budget. However, this conclusion is based on three unfounded assumptions that if not substantiated, will not be persuasive.

Firstly, the author assumes without evidence that the running cost for an increased avenue will be adequately supported by the rise in support from contributors. However, this might not be the case, perhaps due to the increased attendance, new structures will need to be in place to accommodate the numbers, such will require a substantial cost either in expanding the avenue or putting more structures in place. Also, it is possible that with the rising amount of viewership, more staffs will be required for a successful run and will also require capital that the amount from contributors and ticket sales won't be able to cater for. If either of the scenarios above are true, then the author's conclusion that Grandview symphony will be self-supporting does not hold water.

Secondly, the author presumes that the increase in ticket prices announced for next year will have substantial effect on the cash flow of running Grandview symphony. Nevertheless, this won't necessarily be the case. Peradventure, such increase in prices tickets might create a low turnout from the audiences, consequently leading to the concert running at a loss due to the expected turnout. Moreover, there is no indication that the tickets being sold at a higher price net year will have a dramatic effect on the income generated from the concert. Consequently, if either case were true then Author's conclusion of the effect of an increased ticket sales is not overly persuasive.

Thirdly, it is plausible, that the increased patronage from for the concerts might have been due to the increase in advertisements mainly due to the increased contribution from Investors. And as such, the increased funding would not necessarily have an effect on other areas requiring funding; such as cleaning, toilet facilities, camping, and many more. Perhaps, what attracted more people was the improvement in the social atmosphere, such as variety of activities, food and side attractions which would have had a deep on the additional money provided by the contributors. If either case were true, then the Author's conclusion of eradicating funding from the grandview budget due to increased income from contributors is specious at best.

In conclusion, for the argument to be persuasive, the author needs to provide evidence on three fronts; The effect of an increased attendance on structure of the place, the likely turnout from ticket prices and the purposeful usage of the increased income from contributors.