Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning overtime has become an indispensable part of our lives. As we learn everyday, either as a child-- in learning our native language and basic things like riding a bycicle. Learning is a fundamental part of us. The prompt suggests Learning is mainly derived from self discipline and students cannot be persuaded by the school or college alone. I strongly agree with this stance for two reasons.

Firstly, performance in class setting, both in tests and exams are basically influenced by the student himself, with the notion that a prove of a student's learning is in his performance during written tests, thus, the college or school alone cannot push the student towards such excellence, as the student will sit for the exams. Take for example, in many Colleges in the U.S, there is an increasing number of high performance students from the black community in such schools. However, this doesn't mean that a segregated approach was taken by the school as everyone is thought equally and has access to the same facicities. Yet, the performance from blacks supersedes that of the native race despite being the minor group. Consequently, this proves the place of personal discipline, as the general level of hardwork is higher in blacks due to their backgrounds and what they personally want to achieve.

Secondly, learning is not something trivial, it is an important stage in our lives where we decide who we want to be in future and how the course we study will take us there. A student lacking such future plans or vacillating with the choice of who he wants to be will find it hard to be tenacious on how he will get there. Regardless of the influence schools might have, which is evident in giving scholarships to particular fields to challenge the student in taking the opportunity and putting his effort in it. Such efforts have mostly proven futile. For example, recently established Universities built in the 21st century have a habit of giving out scholarships within the first 5 years of inaugration, while this has proven effective as students from poor backgrounds are given the opportunity to actualize their dreams and gain an education in which their progenitors might not have had. Despite this, one can observe that such benevolence hasn't always translated to the success of the student, as their has been numerous cases of dropouts or a recant of the scholarship awarded.

Finally, one will argue that the place of or college is pivotal in ensuing positive mindset among students, such as in counselling, where suicidal thoughts are being restrained and a believe mindset being impacted on students, such efforts have no doubt improved the learning experience and created and avenue for the students to actualize their dreams. However, this hasn't always translated to the eradication of suicidal thoughts, or drop outs that have become a norm in school.

In conclusion, a personal decision to learn will always trump any form of motivation gotten elsewhere, while our experiences and those around us shape our goals, the drive must first be concieved in the individual before appropriate learning takes place.