The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the study conducted in Mentia, the author avers that it is expedient to have a prolonged steady decline in the amount of headache occurrences by the average citizen of Mentia due to the incipient use of Salicylates as flavor additives. However, the author supports his conclusion with three assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the writer presumes, without evidence, that the addition of salicylates as a food preservative by food-processing ventures has been the sole reason for a decline in the average number of headaches reported during the span of the study. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps there was another factor also at play that led to reduction of reported cases. It is possible that as years passed, the populace generally found more effective means of working that reduce their stress levels and thus leading to a reduction in the rate of headaches. This could be an increase in the amount of break from monotonous tasks such as repetitive filling of data on a spreadsheet or an additional break interval to reduce the time spent for a chunk of work at a single stretch. If either of these scenarios were true, then the authors contention that a rise in usage of salicylates as an additive can plummet the number of reported headaches does not hold water.

Also, the writer assumes that the usage of salicylates as a flavor additive by food- processing companies will be appealing to consumers, but this may not necessarily be true. Perhaps, salicylates as an additive might not be as palatable to consumers in comparison with other flavor additives. For example, … as a tomato powder additive can be more enriching to consumers than salicylates, leaving consumers to opt for tomato powders with … as a flavor additive rather than the latter. In addition, even if salicylates is appealing as a flavor additive, it is possible that majority of consumers prefer their processed foods without flavor additives, and will choose the variety that do not contain flavor additives so as to retain part of its natural taste. If either case is the true, then the authors claim is not warranted, and his suggestion that there will be elongated downfall of headache cases reported due to the use of salicylates as a flavor additive is not overly persuasive.

Finally, the writers claim remains tenuous as he assumes that salicylates additional role as flavor additive will increase the quantity of salicylates added by those companies. That might not be the case as the salicylates could play a dual role as a preservative and flavor additive thereby causing no change to the quantity added per product. As this can also prove to be cost effective, it is likely that there will be no changes to the ratio of salicylates in processed food over the years. If this were the case, then the authors claim for a decline in headaches based on the new role of salicylates is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide three pieces of evidence as stated above for the authors claim that the development of salicylates as an additive will continue to reduce the number of reported cases for headache to be substantial.