Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the presented argument, the author avers that the so-called Palean baskets were not solely unique to Palean based on the assumption that the Brim river being very deep and broad, only through boats could the paleans have crossed to lithos were the same distinctive basket was found. However, this conclusion is based on three unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

To begin, the author presumes that since no Palean boats have been found till date, then no Palean boat was ever made. However, this my not be the case. It is possible that palean boats were made, and all boats crossed the Brim river, and none was left at Palean. In addition, perhaps the Palean’s got accustomed to sinking their boats after it is no longer of use, making the boats to be undetectable by the archaeologists. If either of the cases were true, then the author’s conclusion that the woven basket pattern is not solely unique to Palean does not hold water.

Further, the author assumes that due to nature of the brim river – very deep and broad, the Palean’s cannot swim through that river. This may not hold true. Perhaps the Palean’s were naturally talented swimmers, who could swim the distance in seemingly quite deep and broad rivers. Also, perhaps fishing was one of their headline occupation, then it is expected that crossing the river due to the nature of their profession won’t be difficult. If either case were true, then the Author’s assumption is unwarranted, and his conclusion of Palean not being the sole makers is significantly weakened

Finally, it is assumed, without evidence, that woven patterns found in Lithos, although similar, are not actually different from each other. It is possible that coincidentally, Pathos woven basket patterns appeared tantamount to that made by Palean, but in actual case, might be different. Peradventure the ideas were similar due to the similar nature of the environment they lived in. If either scenario were true, then the author’s conclusion is unpersuasive worst and specious at best.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide three pieces of evidence as stated above and conduct a systematic research study for his argument to be persuasive.