The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition.

A cooperative society is always a strong society, this can be seen in many cases present in our world today. While competition brings out the best in us individually, it is cooperative mindset among individuals that leads to epitome of success. The prompt suggests that for young people to be great leaders in any endeavor, the society needs to instill in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition. I strongly agree with this stance for two reasons.

Firstly, we live in a diverse world and currently, nations are taking global diversity seriously. Unlike before, where countries were driven by their local economy, these days the strength of a nation is in its international relations; foriegn reserve, imports, exports and much more. The leadership of such a nation has to have a cooperative mindset for such to occur and this can only be done by influencing the younger generation who will be leaders later to be cooperative rather than competitive. For example, the fortune 500 companies such as Apple made headway through a cooperative mindset. As one might say Steve Jobs was the brain behind their success, it is evident today that the cause of their success has been teamwork which still causes the company to strive even in the absence of Steve Jobs.

Further, as a popular saying, 'two heads are better than one', the best ideas usually come from a consensus of people rather than an individual, as while an individual can be inspired, a second perspective from someone else makes alot of difference. Leadership, which is not a trivial position requires people with such willingness to acknowledge opinions from others while still maintaining his stance on areas he believes will benefit everyone. For example, before the advent of democracy, most society's were ruled by Monarchs who passed their leadership From Father to Son, and although such leadership is still present today like in the case of Great Britain, it has been either adjusted or changed completely. For example, America after gaining it's Independence, and in the advent of Abraham Lincoln practiced democracy which involves a cooperative mindset and these has led to radical changes that still affect positively the world we live today, such as the abolishment of slave trade, the end of Civil war and many more.

Finally, one can argue that competition brings out the best in us, and for us to give in our maximum effort in any field we find ourselves, there has to be someone else who we can see as an adversary so as to be better than when compared. Nevertheless, doesn't the aforementioned still limit us, take for example, in a class of 50, an exceptional student who wants to be the best gets first place, and does consecutively, it is very much likely that the same student won't give in his prime persformance in subsequent

In conclusion, it can be difficult to decide which behaviour can bring out the best in us, either a cooperative mindset or a competitive mindset, notwhistanding, a cooperative society as seen in time past will always trump a competitive society which most times leads to an unhealthy environment