The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of the memorandum concludes that the news program should devote more time in weather and local news as before due to many reasons. While such claim may seem plausible, the memorandum is rife with holes and assumptions and will be declared below. The author would have to eliminate such problems in order to warrant the conclusion of the memorandum.

First of all, the author assumes that because the complaints are mostly about the lack of time devoted to weather and local news, it should be restored as before. However, it is unclear how many complaints there were in total. There may have been a trifling amount of complaints in total and if this is the case, even though complaints regarding the lack of devotion in weather and local news are a majority, it would also be a trivial amount and can be neglected easily. For the author to use such evidence as an advocate of the conclusion of the memorandum, he/she would have to clarify the total number of complaints.

Moreover, the reason the advertising contract got canceled may not be due to the decrease in time devoted to weather and local news. Actually, there could be many reasons for it. The advertising company simply may not have been able to afford the advertising price and had cut off the expenses, or may have decided that late night is not germane for their advertisement. If the advertisement is about children's toys or baby products, then advertising it in the morning or in the afternoon would be a lot more plausible then late at night. For such reasons, this evidence does not seem to support the author's claim.

Last and foremost, the author assumes that the less attraction of the viewers is due to decreased devotion in weather and local news. However, there could be other reasons that affected the viewers' attraction. A competing television station may have rose above the surface and intrigued the viewers or simply, less viewers may prefer to watch the late-night news nowadays compared to before. For the author to make such assumption, the reason of the decrease in the viewers' attention needs to be further investigated and clarified.

To sum up, the memorandum might seem plausible and the evidences upholding the claim. However, through thorough investigation and examining the passage with various points of view, the memorandum does not stand a chance of justification. For the author to maintain the conclusion of the memorandum, he/she would have to eliminate the assumptions and implications discussed above.