The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Firstly, the author mentions complaints about the station's coverage of weather and local news but nothing specific on what these complaints were about. Perhaps, there is a new anchor who is green in the role, still learning and not yet confident. This has caused news to be delivered in a way different from the previous expereience news anchor. If this is the case, maybe a more experienced anchor or even a co-anchor to make things more interesting might be the solution to less complaints. The weather an local news will still be delivered during the same time frame but will be more interesting.

Secondly, the ides that local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night programs are cancelling their contracts due to less local news and more national news might not be entirely true. First question to ask is; are these businesses moving out of the commnuity and no longer need to advertise with the news station? In this situation, changing alloted time will not help rather the staion's business development team should reach out to new businesses in the community for sponsorship. Also, these businesses cancelling contract might also be in the process of optimizing costs in their company and advertising is one of the cost-reduction strategy they are pursuing. The author should make enquries with the local business, understand why the are cancelling their contracts and determine if the change in alloted time slot is the true root cause.

Finally, there is no mention of why time for national news was increase and weather and local news decreased. Have these conditions changed for the station to reconsider reverting back? Is there a major paying sponsor that will rather have their ad shown for longer time during the national news? It is also possible that majority of the residents tune in to the station for nation news so there is more viewership during this time that when weather an local news is discusses. There could also be other stations in the community that focus mainly on weather and local news therefore, devoting more time to national news makes this staion in queston more unique

In order to fully side with increasing time for weather and local news additional information based on paragraphs above is needed.