A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Should a nation require all its students study the same curriculum until college? The assertion presented is in favor of this. Students go to school to learn various courses and subjects ranging from sciences to art. There are pros and cons of having the same curriculum pre-college however, I'm leaning more towards not having the same curriculum based on the following reasons.

Firstly, in many cases, it is somewhat expected that one has an understanding of the direction or major he/she intends to study. When there is a mandate that everyone studies the same subjects, it does not give room for students to make this decision easily. This is becuase they will still have the generalized mindset by the time they are done with high school rather than a streamlined focus which is essential to enable the student hit the ground running from first year of college

Also, schools should basically encourage variety - this is not possible if everyone attends the same classes up to college. We have seen classes where there are some exceptional students while others need extra help in understanding the same subject. Having this two extreme types of students studying the same subjects will make the former bored with school, leading to him or her dropping out, and the later will also find himself or herself in similar situation, bored then dropping out.

On the other hand, having the same curriculum can be advantageous when comparing education levels between a district that is somewhat underdeveloped and another which is developed. If there is a law that requires everyone study the same subject, this will help students from both communities be on the same level. It also makes it easier for college admission officers to compare apples to apples in terms of education merits. Though, the downside is, if there is inadequate education funding from the government for these underdeveloped districts, though they will be expected to study the same subjects, the level at which they are taught these subjects might not be the same.

In summary, it is a good call to have all students study the same curriculum pre-college however, it might be a better call to allow flexibility based on the individual student's interest and what the student's environment allows him or her thrive in.