In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In any field of study, work or research, there are bouts of people who go in with expectations to make an impact one way or the other. After years of learning, making mistakes, success stories and even failures, they are eventually recognized as influential people or an expert in the field. Can a beginner in a certain field or work or research make important contributions compared to another veteran in that field? Though this is proposed, I defer based on the following reasons.

Firstly, to become an expert in any field, first step is to learn its basics. A research student who is interested in advancement of the renewable energy sector will first have to learn about various renewable energy sources and narrow down what his/her concentration will be on. This learning is very vast and takes a while over which this student may then be regarded as an expert and no longer a beginner.

Also, being able to add relevance to any field requires trying different experiments, hypothesis to figure out which is valid and can be implemented on a large scale. Allowing a neophyte to go to the laboratory, without any guide or instructions except the intuition that he/she will make good of the time there is more risky and dangerous. In the oil fields, beginners are given a green hard hat so they can be easily spotted from any distance. People are more cautious and supervise them more as they are prone to mistakes due to their limited years of experience. After spending reasonable time on the field, and proving that they can work independently and safely, they can then be given the white “expert color” hard hats.

On the other hand, there is the possibility of having beginner’s luck. For instance, the stock market is a field that is somewhat dependent on the economy and luck. A trader on the first day of the job can make millions from one sale due to a transaction executed at the right time compared to another experienced trader who perhaps waited a tad longer to execute similar trade. However, this is rarely the case. There is usually some form of learning in every sector including finance to be able to make meaningful contributions.

In conclusion, except for one having beginner’s luck, experts are more likely that beginners to excel in any given field and make important contributions. This is because experts have better know-how of the system and understand different fundamentals necessary to excel in related tasks.