The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it is plausible that viewership and sponsorship have decreased due to devoting more time to national news rather than local and weather news, the arguments presented in the memorandum are not coherent and logically sound. Some of the assumptions made by the manager is completely ill-founded and thus makes his final conclusion untenable.

First of all, the memorandum does not mention the amount of time allocated to national, local and weather news. Without the specific timing information, the term "increased time" is too vague or abstract to reach any conclusion regarding the viewers' complaints. For example, if the time increased for national news is not so significant, then the complaints of the viewers may not be about the duration at all. As the memorandum states, the viewers are concerned about the coverage of weather and local news. The concern of the viewers may have nothing to do with duration of the coverage, rather might be due to the quality of the coverage. The weather news may have been not so accurate during the past year and hence, the viewers may have complained. Without the complete description of the complaints, it is not possible to logically arrive at any sound conclusion regarding the proposed change in coverage time.

Moreover, there is no mention in the memorandum about any decrease in viewers. The complaints of the viewers may have been present before the change of the late-night news program. As a result, retracting the change again may not have any significant effects on the viewership numbers.

Furthermore, there is no mention regarding the content quality of the news shows. Viewers and sponsors are attracted by the content of a program more than it's duration. As such, without knowing whether the content quality has degraded or not, it is not a cogent idea to speculate about the reasons for decrease in both sponsorship and viewership.

Along those lines, the local businesses who used to advertise may have cancelled their contracts because the advertisements are not being shown in the proper manner. The businesses are usually more concerned about how efficiently and grandiosely their products are being advertised rather than the duration of news programs. Without having any solid evidence regarding the advertising quality, it seems to be mere guesses upon which the manager has arrived at his dubious conclusion.

One more point that needs to be considered is the content of the national news. Since the news show has devoted more time to national news, it should have proper content to deliver. If the content of the national news is not appropriate, then it is quite possible that the retracting back to the earlier setting would be beneficial for the tv channel.

In light of the above discussion, we can confidently say that although there might be various reasons behind the decrease in viewership and sponsorship, without having incontrovertible evidences, it is not prudent to arrive at the conclusion that the manager has reached.