The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of the television station wants to switch back to the original time that was dedicated to weather and local news. However the following three pieces of evidence is needed to gauge the strength of this argument and check if the business managers argument hold any water.

The evidence regarding the previous complaints is needed. The argument of the manager only mentions complaints of last year when they changed the times of various news segments. The types of complaints before the last year are missing. Maybe the users have always complained about the weather and local news and their complaints have nothing to do with the timing of the type of news. Maybe the manager has just specifically looked at the past one year complaints when he made the change and the complaints before that have not been looked at. If this is the case and the viewers have always complained then the change in time has nothing to do with it. Therefore, the managers argument to change back on basis of this does not hold water and he needs to figure this out before making a decision.

Another evidence that is needed is the kind of the complaints received. The viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news but wether they wanted to increase their coverage is not evident. Maybe they just wanted the station to increase the quality of their coverage. Maybe they instead wanted the station to remove these segments entirely and just focus on the national news. If this is the case, the arugment of the manager does not stand. Therefore, this evidence needs to be collected and evaluated before a decision is made.

One other evidence that is needed is the reason the local businesses canceled their contracts. Maybe they canceled them because they do not need an advertisement service anymore. Maybe their businesses are doing well enough and have gained a loyal customer base that they don't feel the need to spend money on advertisement anymore. On the other hand, maybe it is financially a bad period for the local businesses and they are struggling to keep them open. They might not have been left with enough budget to spend on advertisement. Therefore, the manager needs to find the cause of their canceled contracts before basing his or her argument on this. If the cause is not related to the change to segment times then his or her argument is substantially weakend.

The above mentioned evidence is needed to evaluate the argument of the business manager of the television station. After the mentioned evidence is collected and evaluated, it would be possible to check if the argument stands.