A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Youth is the future of every nation and the tool that makes them be resourceful for their nation is a sound educational foundation. According to the given prompt all of the students of a country should be required to study same curriculum until they are admitted to a college. I mostly disagree with this statement because of the following two reasons.

A nation is made with people of varying cultures, races and values. Two people living in the same country, same neighbourhood migh have a diferent history that they would like their children to know. Requiring all the students to take same curriculum would inhibt the younger minds to comprehend the struggles of their fellows having different background than them. For instance, America has a huge population of immigrants and people from various countries. If whole country has one curriculum, a number of these people would feel left out and they would harbour an anger towards the system for preventing their children from understanding where they come from. This can be an issue for immingrants all over the world.

Secondly, even in one country, there are cerain issues that are local and only exist in a certain region. These issues might get exempted from the curriculum as they are not found on a national level. Ignoring these issues and not teaching the children about them could have a negative effect on their lives. For example, consider any developed nation. The country would probably be flourishing and the people in most of the regions would be living above poverty line. This might result in ignoring the poor regions where people are struggling and living hand to mouth. The people living luxurious lives need to be sepcifically educated about the other side of their nation and the role they can play to eradicate this issue and make everyones lives easier.

Some people might say that it is necessary to educate all the students same so that no one is left behind and everyone gets same opportunities. This thought might have a good intention but what happens in this scenario is that people feel even more left out when they are not educated about the people that are differet from them. Providing everyone same education does not necessarily get them same opportunities rather they start lacking the issues that more relevant for them to know inorder to be a successful person and a better human for the rest of the world. Therefore, a national curriculum should not be required instead a tailor made curriculum for different regions should be considered.