The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director suggests that the budget for advertisement should be increased inorder to reach public and spread awareness reagrding the availabiliy of good quality movies. This recommendation is based on the recent report from the marketing department that suggested that positive reviews of the Super Screen Movies are increasing even after dcrease in number of attendees yet they are not reaching the general public. However, before this recomendation is implemented, third questions need to be answered to evaluate the effectiveness of the recommendation.

First of all, on what basis was the report generated ? In other words, was the report based on all the people that attended the movies and did each person only review the movie once ? For instance, it can be the case that one person reviewed the movie multiple times. Thus, increasing the number of reviews but the number of attendants remained the same as the previous years. If this is the case, then the report that the recommendation is based on is not reliable and the whole argument of the director does not hold water anymore.

Secondly, what was the people's engagement with the reviews during the past year and before that ? Maybe people are aware of the reviews and they might have been browsing through them but they are still not interested in watching those movies. Perhaps a bad experience with the movies made them dislike the production company and they are not interested in watching those movies anymore. In this scenario, even spending more money might not convince people as they already know the reviews and have already made their mind to stay away from those movies.

Another question that needs to be answered is what is the content of those positive reviews ? Maybe the reviews were regarding the cast of the movie. People might have liked the casting choices and would have given a positive regarding that but they still might not have liked the quality of the movie. In this situation, the increase in the positive reviews does not mean people enjoy the quality and the author's argument on this base would be considerably weakened.

Therefore, before proceeding with the recommendation, the above questions need to be answered to gauge wether the assumptions on which the argument is based stands true or not.