The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's modern world, with all the technological advancements, humans are competing against eachother to succeed in this race of life. The prompt suggests that inorder to instill a sense of leadership in younger generation, society should teach them cooperation instead of competition. However, I slightly diagree with this recommendation on basis of two reasons.

Since the day a child is born, he or she is automatically part of a race to get ahead of all the other children around him or her. From kindergarten to the college education, a child is compared against his or her peers. This comparison is not just done by the teachers or educational institutes but the parents also want their child to be on the top in every field. The child develops a sense of competition from a young age and in most of the cases it acts as a driving force or a motivation for the child to work hard. This has been the case for all the young people even before this digital shift in our lives. Throughout history, this system of competition produced revolutionary leaders in government and every other industry.

When a person enters the pofessional world, he or she has to overcome a number of obstacles, work hard and give his or her best because they have that sense of competition that drives them. They know in this fast paced world, if they want to be a leader in their field, they have to continue striving to be the best version of themselves because if they won't someone in their surroundings might beat them to it. Similarly, inorder to emerge as an effective leader, people need to beat theother candidates to be recognized. In a democratic country, opposing parties have to compete against eachother to gain the victory. This enables the parties to work in the benefit of the people to get most votes.

The other element to succeed is cooperation. Competition would definitely get people ahead in life but to truly make this world a better place, cooperation is needed. This is evident from the history that whenever humans were struck with some calamity or disaster, people came togethe and cooperated with ecahother to get out of it. In professional world, competition would allow a person to get to the position of leadership but to be an efficient leader, they would need to cooperate with opposition parties to effectively run the government and provide welfare to the general public. In the same way, competition would get people to the position of leadership but to stay there and be a role model, they would have to cooperate with the people around them and the poeople they lead.

In conclusion, while cooperation is definitely needed to prepare the young people for leadership, they need to have the sense of competition instilled in them as well.