The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Late-night news program has allocated more time for nation-wide news and less time to local news and weather reports after receiving complaints of viewers. Additionally, local businesses have dismissed the contracts with news channel. So to keep the viewer's count stable and avoid the profits from advertisements, they need to restore the time for local news and weather program. Overall, the memorandum of the business manager of television station looks pretty logical and agreeable. But on the closer look, there are couple of loopholes for which, more evidence should be provided in order the take a decision.

First of all, television channel received most of the complaints from the viewers about coverage report of weather and local news. There has to be a survey report and data analysis such as what kind of feedback or complaints of coverage viewers are giving? How many viewers are interested to watch local news and weather reports? It is possible that viewers didn't like the presentations given in the weather reports. Either people are expecting more detailed evaluation of the weather charts or they didn't like the anchor's style of reading the news. In other words, the evidences are necessary to evaluate the quality of coverage report of weather and news.

Secondly, local shopkeepers have cancelled their contracts with the news channel. Author of the prompt blindly assumes that they cancelled because they have increased the national news times on their channel. A strong justification needs to be provided on the basis of data records for this claim. For example, how many local businesses cancelled the contracts? What are actual reasons behind the cancellation? Why they are no more interested to keep and renew the contracts? Is there any other competitive news channel in the market to provide them better opportunities? For instance, it is quite possible that local businessman is trying to save the money for implementation of upcoming business plans and temporarily suspended the contract. The overall survey of these local businessmen needs to be conducted. Also, actually setting up a face to face meeting with them is a even better option for new channel authorities to understand real root cause

of cancellations. Without these evidences, the claim of the author is significantly weakened.

Finally, author assumes that they should restore the time devoted to local news and weather charts to avoid revenues from advertisements and viewer's count to attract business. He clearly ignores the possibility that television channel may loose the viewers and profit margins even though they increase the time of local news because of plethora of other possible reasons. If they don't find the real reasons and subsequent evidences of loosing their business, the above claim certainly doesn't hold any water.

To conclude, above two reasons should be justified primarily to strengthen the argument, made by the business manager. Otherwise, his claim will be weakened in other parts of the memorandum.