The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with out station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, the local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contacts with us. This has come to conclusion that to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any furthur advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluted let's dicuss various circumstances.

First of all, are local news and national news comparable? In other words, does both local and national news posses same kind of information. It is possible that local news

viewers might be low due to specific geographic area. The viewers might be giving preference to local news but only of that area. For example, population of certain state might be around 15000 and around 13000 might be watching local news, while population of nation would be around 15 million and only 1 million might be watching the national news. Though 13000 is very less compared to 1 million but, we can't compare them as both have their comparable quantity different and instead if we compare with their ratio, local news is watched by almost 3/4 of population of state while national news is watched by less then 1/4 portion of population. So by looking only at digits it might be wrong to judge them that program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news.

Secondly, the local businesses might have canceled their advertising with nation wide channels due to lack of revenue by nation wide channels it might have stopped their advertisement. For instance, if nation wide is giving less preference to local wide news it might pay them low and so they might have canceled. Let's take example that nation wide is paying $20000 to national news montly and $2000 to local news than it might lead them to high loss due to less income. So their might be scenario that national wide news is shown more as compared to local news and so people might have not shown much interest in local news due to less preference.

By this, here we conclude that the argument is flawed down by several unwanted assumption. If author is able to given proper detail answer to this scenario through proper research and offer evidence then it might work to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.