The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news

and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints

received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news.

In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the

program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the arguments uses the evidence that due to increased time of national news and lesser to weather and local news, resulted in complaints from the viewers regarding lesser coverage of weather and local news and local businesses pulling out their advertisements, which results in them recommending to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The argument is rifed with assumptions which lack evidence.

When the business manager states that their late-night news program devoted increased time or less time, what is the amount of time deviation in question. For example, if there is evidence regarding the program duration to be 1 hr and the increase time is from 10 minutes to 15 minutes, and the lesser time is from 50 minutes to 45 minutes. On the evidence suggests that the increased time was 30 minutes (from 10 to 40), such a deviation is substantial. The proportion of increased and lowered time could help in weakening or strengthening manager's argument as lower proportion would suggest the cause is something different and recommendation should not be taken and higher proportion would strengthen the argument going towards the recommendation.

The business manager does not provide any specific evidence regarding the number of complaints they received, nor the amount of complaints per viewer. If evidence suggests that the complaints were only from a vocal minority than the credibility of the complaints is questionable and hence would weaken author's arugment and recommendation is not valid, on the other hand if the number of complaints are subtantial this would hint otherwise. The other thing is there any evidence regarding the deviation in number of complaints, if an evidence state that the number of complaints have increased or decreased this would strengthen or weaken manager's argument respectively.

Apart from that, the manager assumes that the local businesses who have cancelled their advertisements during their program is solely due to the change and not any other reason. If survey is taken and it suggests that it is due to some other reason like increased advertising costs or if they are facing financial crisism, this would work against the author. On the other hand if evidence suggests that this is due to the deviation of time either via lower output or their skepticism, this would work towards the manager. Such an evidence could suggest towards taking the recommendation or not taking it, since this would indicate towards their future revenues. Other assumption is that by restoring to its former level, it would attract more views and avoid losing any further advertising revenues, which they do not seem to have any evidence for.

The manager's argument makes various assumption which he or she does not have proper evidence to back it up for. One has to obtain and analyze various evidence from data collected from viewers, local advertisers, deviation in increased and lower time and so on. Without the evidence, we can not go with manager's decision.