The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I somewhat agree to it, but with certain conditions which need to fulfilled. In leadership one requires to have a sense of cooperation as well as competition.

Cooperation is good way to increase efficiency as it emphasizes on collaboration and betterment for all. For example, let us consider a person who has been cooperating with people for a long job, he or she would be able to know the division of tasks, what are each person's strength and weaknesses, and how to make the whole team cohesive. At the same time, Competition itself can get a bit toxic for people, which might not only make them a bit unable to cooperate with their contemporaries and the people working under him/her but also might make them compete even when it is not needed. Let's consider a situation where a person is been competive his/her whole life, now if that person is appointed as a leader in some field, then he/she would find it harder to work together and might even compete with his/her subordinates as they might replace him/her.

Instillment of cooperation can be a good way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership, but one has to keep in mind that leadership often requires to take initiatives and have an independent mindset which might not to be that intrinsic to people who have been instilled with a sense of cooperation. For example, let's say a person is a CEO of some company, now that person would have certain competitors, the CEO has to have a sense of competition by coming up with better products, competitng with lower price, attracting more customers through advertisers and so on. The set of skills required cannot be achieved solely on the basis of cooperation.

One could however argue that we have been intrisicly instilled with a sense of competition because of our primal past, but one could not make the same case for cooperation. From the primal times, humans have tried competiting with one another, but it is only after we have cognition revolution that we have been able to cooperate with one another. Apart from that, one could question how is one instilled with a sense of cooperation, as that might be strenous. For example, if a student's been told to cooperate with other classmates on a project, but they are unwilling to work or incompotent, one might be incentivized to cooperate in the future.

Hence one has to be instilled with a sense of cooperation in the right condition, along with some instillation of competition as both would be needed for a position in leadership.