A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement states that the having an uniform curriculum should be mandatory for the nation, as due to some positive connotations. I diagree to the statement to some extent. I think having the same curriculum for an entire nation would have several limitations, though having a similar layout could be beneficial. For example, for kids studying in two different states would have similar curriculum in many subjects but their would be certain disparities regarding subjects involving history and culture of the state. Since a nation could be quite diverse and states would have their own diversity, a single curriculum could not contain information or knowledge regarding every state. It would have uneven patterns for history regarding each state and even if we assume it to be all-inclusive, students from other states might not appreciate it.

A single curriculum would not be able to take care of students who belong to other side of the spectrum. For example, student who have mental issues would not be able to catch up with the curriculum and hence their education would severely suffer. On the other hand, students who are gifted, might find the curriculum to be trivial and find that it is holding them back.

However, one could argue that having the same curriculum ensures that students share the same foundational knowledge which they could later utilize when entering college. This would also eliminate redundancies and the college curriculum for programmes would be concise. For example, if some students had 3-D geomertry in their curriculum while some did not, the college would have to include 3-D geometry course for student in "STEM" field. It would also reduce the discrepancies in student's knowledge.

However, I would argue that even though there are different curriculums for different schools, they could share a certain layout amongst different subjects. For example, even though, a school A has different curriculum than school B, they would similar layout in terms of subjects let's say Science, Mathematics and English. Having a different curriculum where one could try to encompass same ideas but with different contexts or style. For example, the mentally challenged students and mentally gifted students would both study Algebra, but the level of detail and problem difficulty would be different.

One can understand the importance of having different curriculums, at the same time one has to understand that the curriculums should also share a certain layout amongst them so that the students when they reach college, the redundancies could be removed and they could build upon some uniform knowledge.