According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year , fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies have increased in this year.Clearly,the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough to our prospective viewers.Thus the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with the lack of awareness that good movies are available.Super Screen Movies should thus allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching public through advertising.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company recommends that the allocation of advertising should have greater share of the overall budget next year with the support that the past year, lowest amount of people have attended their movies despite the fact that the percentage of positive reviews have increased during the past year.

When the director mentions that fewer people attended the company's produced movie, what is the amount of people it has been deviating by. For example, if the year before the past year they had 1 million people attending their produced movie but the past year, the movies have been attended by nine hundred fifty thousand people. The decrease is not sufficient enough to go increase the budget allocation. One might argue that the amount of people have been lowest in the past year, but we don't know by what sort of deviation is seen. It might have been a stagnant graph and there would have been a small drop in numbers.

Secondly, one has to ask what is the percentage of people who have watched the company's produced movies and given reviews. As the reviews could be given by a vocal minority which might not reflect the overall reflection of the audience. If that is the case then might go against the director's recommendation, but if the percentage is quite substantial then it might lead to director's recommendation. Apart from that, other question is what if they had produced niche movies. If that is the case, then it would explain the increase in percentage of positive reviews and lower numbers and this would make us not go with director's recommendation.

Thirdly, one has to ask what is the current allocation of their advertising budget, what sort of quantative effect it has and how much it should be increased by. Let us consider a situation where the current allocation is 70 percent which is already a substantial amount and increasing it might not have that big of an impact. At the same time the company might be spending 5 percent, in that case going with director's recommendation would be beneficial. Apart from that, if the amount of people awared with the amount of advertising money spent is non-linear than this would support director's recommendation in case where the equation is less than linear and be against in the case where the equation is more than linear.

Hence, the questions mentioned above need to be answered before we go with author's recommendation or have to come up with a different recommendation if the questions hint otherwise. Increasing advertising allocation might increase attendence or it might be redundant and lose company money.