The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period. most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A television station should balance out the news and information that it want to propagate. Local news, national news, weather report, weather forecast, daily facts, advertisements eveything mentions here should have the same level of importance. Now the conclusion the business manager drawed from his memorandum is quite wrong.

The memorandum states that they increased time devoted to national news amd decreased time devoted to weather and local news. So we can infer that they were broadcasting most of the weather and local news at late-night news program, because then only viewers started to complain regarding the issue of coverage. Before that there was no problem regarding the same. This means that the television company was only broadcasting weather news and local news at night. If they had also broadcasted it during the day time viewers would not have much problem. The frequency of time is what matters here too.

And the statement made about the advertisers here is very pretentious. How about considering that local business might just dont want to be partner with you. They pulled contracts from you, that doesn't mean that there is the coverage problem of weather and local news. They might not be happy with the content that you show. They might think that having partnered up with you might loose their product value, because again the company is failing to keep up the frequency of broadcasting, and possible propagating biased contents.

Viewers have their own preferences. We can't simply just assume that viewers are not getting enough weather content and local news. And the possible aftermath is that the company is losing their viewers. There might be few other reasons that maybe what is making you loose your viewership. Viewers don't solely tune for weather and local news.

Proper analytical data is necessary here in order to form a strong conclusion. The televsion station instead of increasing time devoted to weather and local news at late-night should instead focus on the frequency to broadcast the same. They should focus more on their type of content, that might be making the viewers not prefer your channel. And in order to gain local business contracts, one should also focus the time on which they should present local news.