The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim made here is too broad, as there is certainly not any "best" way of doing anything in this world. There are always some quirks and traits that follow with these so called "ways" of getting possible desired outcome. While the opinion stated here is too broad, I don't fully disagree with this, as the sense of cooperation should exist in a person for any leadership task but that doesn't necessarily means that it doesn't always come alongside the competitive environment.

Any person who is studying or pursuing in various fields have, to some extent, cooperatability instilled in them already, if only they are doing, whatever they do, quite seriously. Leadership is not present by birth in a person, it sometimes still exist in a person, its just that the person is not aware of this quality. So by instilling sense of cooperation in them might seem a waste of time and resources, instead they might want to spend there time, and encourage the youth onto other useful things like, skill development, etc.

Competition is the key to success, one might say. Competition boosts your skills, it shapes your endurance, your thoughtfullness, your way of sensibility, and sometimes your perspective too. A competitive environment breeds erudites. A person in an atmospheric competitoin may develop themself into a totally another level. Competition usually provides the best of the best outcome. In order to form a complete intellectual leader on shall stay into the competition from time to time.

One can only improve themself, if he can get to know the mistakes and the areas where they need to improve themself. And this can only happen through the competition.

Cooperation and competition my sometimes act proportionally or totally counteractive. It is true that one cooperative person might show a sense of competition if persuaded, but it is not the same case with a competitive person showinf cooperatability. But the probabbility of the former case is way too low where as the probable result of the later case generally is a satisfactory one.

For a society to give rise the leaders within the youth, it shall focus more towards the skill development, encouragement and created a highly motivated environment around them. Because then is the chances of creating a great competitive ground where a person can display their leadership quality and then the society can accept them or not solely basis on the cooperative behaviour. But by doing so we should not understimate the potentials of those same persons.