The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In this memorandum, the author assumes a fundamental connection between local new coverage and viewship but presents an argument that requries further evidence.

The author does not state how much increased time has been given to national news coverage, making it unknown if such an increase in time is substantial or if it is too small for most viewers to notice. The author also states that most complaints in the past year concern local news and weather coverage but does not disclose the nature of these complaints. In their argument, the author implies that the complaints concern the time of local news and weather coverage but does not actually describe what the complaints are about. The author's current expression of these complaints leaves the complaints open to interpretation about whether these complaints may concern other issues with local news like content or method of delivery. If the author wishes to make the connection between time local news and viewer complaints, they must disclose further information about the content of such complaints.

The author also attempts to explain that loss of local business advertising is caused by this decrease in local news coverage but fails to make an explicit connection between the two. In reality, the loss of local business advertising could be caused by a number of other reasons, such as business dynamics or change in business model. The author also does not disclose how many businesses have canceled advertising on the news program, leaving the possibility that as little as two businesses have stopped advertising out of a pool of potentially thousands of businesses. In order to validate this argument, the author must disclose the cause of local businesses cancelling advertising as well as numbers and statistics of how many businesses have canceled advertising due to the decrease of local news coverage.

In the final statement, the author states that restoring time for local news and weather coverage will increase viewership and reduce revenue loss. The author, however, does not present any evidence such as polling that increased local news time would bring back past viewers or attract new viewers. The author also makes an unsubstantiated connection between increasing local news coverage and reducing revenue loss. Even if increased local news coverage were proven to increase viewership, viewership is not the only factor affecting revenue and is not explicitly connected to increasing revenue. This argument fails to consider other factors concerning revenue including expenses needed for local news coverage as well as other business workings outside of local news coverage and viewership. In order to make this argument, the author should include evidence of a clear connection between future viewership and local news coverage as well as business or numerical evidence that viewership and local news coverage will in fact reduce revenue loss.

While the author's stated argument in favor of increased local news coverage may be valid, the argument in its current state does not present enough evidence to be fully convincing. With the addition of details and evidence of viewers' opinions and the the news program's business practices, the current memorandum can be bolstered to create a complete, more convincing argument.