"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation to require all students to study the same curriculum may be beneficial to some students but detrimental to others depending on each student's individual interests and circumstances.

The use of a standard national curriculum allows for students to all build the same academic foundation before entering higher education. Past and current national curriculum plans require specific topics be taught in a variety of standard academic subjects, such as math, English, and science in order to teach basic concepts in each of these subjects. Such a foundation may be useful to students who are unsure of their career and academic interests before and even during college by helping build academic background in a variety of disciplines. By having the opportunity to learn about a variety of subjects, students are able to explore and discover subjects that they enjoy or not and are able to make further career determinations from there. In addition to helping find which certain topics a student may gravite towards, a standardized curriculum imparts basic knowledge across a variety of topics that may be relevant across different career paths, such as the use of chemistry in biology or the use of language arts in a business setting. In such a scenario, a national curriculum is beneficial in both helping students discover fitting career paths as well as aiding the academic background necessary in these paths.

The benefits of this academic curriculum, however, fail to consider the hinderances this curriculum may cause for students interested in disciplines outside of the curriculum framework. If past and current national curriculums serve as a model for our theoritical national curriculum, then such a curriculum model may fail to serve students interested in pursuing the arts, such as in music performance or fine arts. Past and current national curriculums set standards for only academic subjects, not providing education relevant in a career outside of these subjects and therefore forcing students interested in these unserved careers to seek education outside of the standard schooling model. By forcing such students to adhere to academic standards outside of their interests, a national curriculum may serve as a time hinderance to a student's education in topics relevant to them specifically, such as with music lessons and practice or fin arts classes. In such a scenario, a national curriculum may serve as a hinderance to a student's true interests in terms of time dedicated to study as well as a failure to provide basic education in these topics.

Although a lack of education catered towards some topics serves as a disadvantage in a national curriculum system, such a system does allow for other topics to be accessible and explored, creating a discrepeancy th