In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Throughout history, humans have been working continuously in improving the human condition as well as learning more about the world around us. Such exploration has led to the constant development of new fields all with the same goal of improving lives and understanding. Such fields can be considered new and novel at the time of advent, but many would argue that such developments are not truly new since they arise from the work of those before them. Many new developments in the world constantly arise, but such novelty is usually rooted in the work of those that came before.

A common example of this phenomenon is the development of science throughout the years. Humans have been constantly been experimenting and observing the world around us to learn more about the properties of the world around us and beyond. Modern science and research is very much attributable to the work of those before, as research continues to build off of knowledge gained to find more about knowledge yet undiscovered. Chemistry is a core field of science that is characterized the discovery of fundamental atoms and elements in our world. The discovery of these principles is inherent in current chemistry research that expands on this knowledge greatly through the modern day applications of pharmaceuticals and material science. Without acknowledging and utilizing the work of prior chemists, current scientists would not be able to make new discoveries or inventions because of the lack of understanding about the laws that govern exploration of the field of chemistry.

Science, however, has not always been a cut and dry progression of knowledge through the years; indeed, there have been many instances in which what was previously thought to be known turned out to be false. Scientists previously firmly believed that the Earth was the center of the galaxy and that waves and particles were unequivocally separate entities, but researchers were able to reach new novel conclusions about the actual truths of these matters. In the current age, the advent of artificial intelligence and deep learning is considered a completely novel field in technology.

All of these revolutionary discoveries, albeit indeed new and previously unfathomable, still find their roots in the science of past times. The idea of a heliocentric galaxy was absurdly different from the earlier Earth-centered galaxy and the previous science and findings that came with it, but the development of this new idea was able to explain astronomical ideas previously proposed as well as bolster new theories and ideas about our galaxy that turned out to be true. Wave-particle theory was able to bridge a gap in knowledge between the two as well as explain the past findings of either despite its newness. These explanations were key in objectively supporting these new ideas with facts. Current technology with AI and deep learning is built on the fundamentals of the ever-growing field of computer science and indeed is being researched and utilized to fulfill market and need gaps of the past and the lack of achievement in such areas. Although all of these topics were indeed revolutionary for their respective times, they were able to reap validity and progress through their couplings with the achievements of the past.

The new fields of today have been developed with the essential aid of the knowledge found before, such as with discovery within our galaxy and the fundamental chemistry and physics behind it. Even new sciences like AI are being developed using basic scientific principles, making all of these new ideas and fields indebted to the discoveries and achievements of the past. Many contributions to any field are inseparable to the work done in the field before, making past research the building blocks.