Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals are prevalent in most people’s private and professional lives, whether it be through the scandals of others or scandals of one’s own. Scandals have an undeniable tendency to attract attention and start conversation as they reveal the unknown sides of those we feel we know. Such attention, however, may not be unequivocally useful in addressing the issues and affairs of our communities due to the unpredictable nature of both a scandal and the people’s reaction to a scandal.

A scandal may not always provoke the intended reaction or gain the desired exposure to successfully draw attention to a problem. In years past, the Panama Papers were released, detailing the illegal offshoring and money garnering tactics of both famous and more profile wealthy people in the United States. Although the Papers contained bombshell proof of scandal, media coverage of the Papers was limited at best, reactions muted, and the Papers mostly forgotten about soon after, therefore undermining the Papers’ purpose to vindicate those mentioned in the Papers in a proportional scale to the business affairs described. In this scenario, the scandal was not useful in drawing appropriate attention to the illegal affairs of some of America’s elite due to the lack of exposure and reaction to the papers.

Some may argue, however, that other examples of scandals display a scandal’s usefulness in addressing an otherwise undiscussed issue. In 2017, Twitter’s #MeToo platform as well as the exposed scandals of major names in the entertainment industry, like Harry Weinstein and Kevin Spacey, helped successfully draw attention to sexism and workplace inequality in the entertainment industry and was a major player in improvement of Hollywood’s workplace equality. Other scandals of this similar nature, however, have proven to be equally as prominent yet are not as useful in yielding productive reactions and change. Indeed, in the 2016 presidential race, nominee Donald Trump was involved in scandals in which it was exposed that he had used derogatory language and body language towards women and mentally disabled people, yet these scandals did not greatly affect his support base and culminated in him still winning the presidential race. The juxtaposition of the #MeToo and Trump scandals reveal that although they are similar in nature of exposing gender discrimination, the effects of these two scandals were drastically different with the first succesfully helping to improve the intended issue while the latter had negligible effect on Trump’s success. These different consequences showcase scandals’ unpredictable nature in results and therefore make it unreliable tool for efficiently addressing problems.

The capriciousness of scandals make the use of scandal an unreliable method to instigate conversation about an issue despite these scandals’ massive attention or lack thereof. Scandals are highly variable in both the attention they are able to draw as well as the reaction of the public and subsequent events to happen.