The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author attempts to make a case for the connection between birth order of rhesus monkeys and stimulation. They, however, many generalizations and fail to make some necessary connections, therefore weakening the argument and allowing for alternative reasonings. Such alternate reasonings for the observed phenomena is the difference in environmental stimulus as well as difference in the purpose of the hormone cortisol.

The author does not detail the stimulating situations in which the infant monkeys were exposed to, therefore allowing that the firstborn infants were perhaps exposed to more intense or greater quantity of stimulus than were later-born infants. For example, the firstborn infants may have had a greater number of humans handling them or could have undergone a moving of locations, causing the infant to need to adjust to a new environment. In contrast, the later-born infants may have had less people handling them and may have been confined to only a single enclosure their entire lives, therefore giving them less in the environment to be stimulated by. With such scenarios, the stimulation experienced by these monkeys is more related to the amount of environmental stimuli they are exposed to rather than the originally claimed birth order of the infant monkeys, a complete departure from the author’s argument.

The given argument also fails to describe how the hormone cortisol works within the monkeys’ bodies, allowing for the possibility that perhaps the amount of cortisol produced does not correlate with stimulation. Although the author mentions that cortisol is used to prime the body for increased activity, this does not necessarily indicate that the amount of this hormone is tied to the stimulation a monkey may experience. For example, a monkey may experienced increased activity levels if it is playing with another monkey, but another monkey may experience greater stimulation if it is being quietly passed around multiple handlers. The mention of production of cortisol in humans may also be explained with this discrepancy, as the given example of heightened cortisol levels of a child when a parent returns home may be due to a parent playing catch with their child upon returning home, in which the activity level of the child would be increased. The author also continues to state that a first-time mother experiences greater amounts of cortisol, but this can be explained by the greater amount of activity within the body while undergoing the changes necessary for pregnancy, changes that past mothers have already experienced and therefore require less activity of the body.

The hormone cortisol may not be necessarily related to an organism’s stimulus, and the study of infant monkeys described may attribute its results to the environmental stimuli of the monkeys rather than the birth order. This lack of the author’s detailing in the function of the hormone cortisol as well as the environmental conditions of the study surrounding the infant monkeys allows for explanations alternative to the author’s stated theory.