People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People make many decisions everyday regarding both commonplace occurrences and once-in-a-lifetime opportunities. For most decisions, logic is often the deciding factor and is usually associated with good decision making, but there are scenarios that are notably emotion-based, therefore making emotion-based decision makers also justified both logically and emotionally.

Many scenarios throughout life often have outcomes dependent on the decisions made, and many people will find it useful to weigh these outcomes through logic in order to make the best decision. Many students have a myriad of activities they could participate in rather than studying, but when faced with the consequences of not doing well on an assessment or class, many students will choose to study in order to have a positive outcome. In some recent cases, though, a student's mental health may be hampered by classes and the workload involved and if mental health is a priority for a student, they may choose to face the negative consequences of not getting the best grades possible for a class in order to cater to the emotional gravity of mental health. Indeed, in such a scenario, choosing the best decision for their emotions is also a logical decision and is not a poor decision if such a decision aligns with the student's priorities.

An emotion-based or logic-based decision may also be dictated by the conditions surrounded the scenario, such as the emotions associated with jobs and careers. Some workers may be forced to work jobs they do not enjoy because of the logical benefits of earning money and benefits as well as being able to support themselves and possibly also loved ones. Other workers, however, may have access to more resources that would allow them the liberty to leave an undesirable job or career without severe financial repercussions. Indeed, many career advisers stress the importance of emotion in choosing a job or career, bolstering the argument that emotion-based decisions are not necessarily bad ones and in this case are good. The emotion tied to a disliked job in this case is considered a logical reason to leave a job, and this logical reasoning of an emotional decision is often not considered a poor decision.

Emotional and logical decision making are both beneficial in the lives of students and workers. When emotional decisions in particular are made, the logical explanations behind the associated emotions are not detrimental and are often actually beneficial in understanding a decision made.